PLENARY LECTURES
Pol Spanos
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Rice University, Texas
spanos@rice.edu
“Random Vibrations of Nonlinear Continua Endowed with Fractional Derivative Elements”
Yukio Tamura
Department of Architectural Engineering
Tokyo Polytechnic University, Japan
yukio@arch.t-kougei.ac.jp
“Aerodynamic Characteristics of Super-Tall Buildings with Various Configurations”
Ryan Janzen
co-founder and CTO of TransPod
ryan.janzen@transpod.ca
“Transportation at 1000 km/h: Pushing Propulsion Dynamics to the Extreme, in TransPod’s Ultra-High-Speed Hyperloop System“
SEMI-PLENARY LECTURES
James Brownjohn
Vibration Engineering Section
University of Exeter, England
j.brownjohn@exeter.ac.uk
“Tests on Long Span Bridges and Analysis Using New OMA Techniques.”
Michael Hanss
Institute of Engineering and Computational Mechanics
University of Stuttgart, Germany
michael.hanss@itm.uni-stuttgart.de
“Certainly Uncertain – The Charm of Fuzzy Predictions”
Victor Krylov
Department of Aeronautical and Automotive Engineering
Loughborough University, England
v.v.krylov@lboro.ac.uk
“Acoustic Black Holes for Flexural Waves: A Smart Approach to Vibration Damping”
Satish Nagarajaiah
Civil and Environmental
Rice University, Texas
satish.nagarajaiah@rice.edu
“Sparse and Low-rank Methods for Structural Identification and SHM”
Alexander Vakakis
Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, Illinois
avakakis@illinois.edu
“Intentional Utilization of Strong Nonlinearity in Structural Dynamics”
David Wagg
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Sheffield, England
david.wagg@sheffield.ac.uk
“Understanding the Dynamics of Multi-Degree-of-Freedom Nonlinear Systems Using Backbone Curves”